Pesto Chicken with Summer Veggies

Hey Everyone!

Just checking in with a new summer dinner recipe that I am trying tonight (It is literally baking in the oven right now! Smells good!). I was having one of those nights where I had no idea what to make for dinner, but I had chicken defrosted and had to do something with it. As I was thinking about what to make I remembered I had pesto in my fridge.  I absolutely love pesto so I new I had to include that somehow!  I was also able to scrounge up a great zucchini I had just bought from one of the farm stands in town, a juicy tomato and a sweet potato.  So, here is what I came up with 🙂

Baked Pesto Chicken with Summer Veggies:

Recipe two people:

Ingredients:

 6-8 Chicken Breast Tenderloins

3 tbsp. Pesto

1 zucchini, cubed

1/2 a medium sweet potato, cubed

1 tomato cut into chunks

Non stick cooking spray

Ground black pepper to taste

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a baking dish with non stick cooking spray or line it with foil and then spray lightly.  Place the chicken flat in the bottom of the dish and season with ground pepper.  Use 2 tbsp. of the pesto to coat the chicken with. Cover with the chunks of tomato.  In a bowl mix the cubed zucchini and cubed sweet potato with the remaining 1 tbsp. of pesto and ground black pepper to taste.  Pour the zucchini and sweet potato mix into the edges of the baking dish, around the chicken.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Check periodically to make sure that the vegetables are at the tenderness that you prefer.  If they reach your desired tenderness before the chicken is cooked through- remove them using a spatula and place on a serving tray while the chicken continues to cook. Enjoy!!

ingredients for pesto chicken

Ingredients: Chicken breast tenderloins, 1 zucchini, 1 tomato, 1/2 sweet potato, and pesto.

Before cooked pesto chicken

This is what mine looked like right before I popped it into the oven! I had to use two trays because I used extra veggies.

Leave a Reply

