PALEO Check In

Hi Friends!

Well, today was day 3 of the Countdown to Thanksgiving: Paleo Challenge! So far, I am feeling great! I know it sounds crazy, but I truly noticed a change in the way I felt today. I had more energy and I was not as hungry between meals. I went to the gym after work and while the class I took was crazy intense- I felt strong and powerful during it. It was an incredibly uplifting feeling for me (I mean seriously- who doesn’t want to feel powerful?!)

Although it has only been 3 days, I have two tips that I have found extremely helpful so far. So, here it goes:

1) HYDRATE- Drink at least 70 oz. of water each day. This has helped keep me full and have more energy throughout the day.

2) PLAN and PREP- I have found it so helpful to have a tupperware of different cut up veggies, portioned servings of almond butter in small tupperware containers, and a paleo style “indulgent” treat made ahead of time in case cravings creep up. Planning out my meals for the day and having food prepped in advance has helped me SO much because it eliminates the temptation to cheat. If the meal is prepped and ready to be made then there is no excuse not to make it. Having healthy snacks prepped and ready has helped me to avoid cheating when my stomach is growling and I am looking for a quick something to fill me up. If my veggies, fruit and almond butter are already prepared then they are easy to grab and I don’t cheat!

Okay, so for those of you that are wondering what a typical day, PALEO style looks like- here is what I had today

Breakfast- One grapefruit, 3/4 cup egg whites with 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

Snack- One Banana

Lunch- One baked, cubed, chicken breast with 2 cups chopped cauliflower, red/orange bell peppers, and mushrooms. Sauce on the veggies and chicken was 2 tablespoons warmed sunflower butter, 2 tbsp. reduced sodium chicken broth, crushed red pepper flakes (mix it all up and our over veggies and chicken before baking)

Snack- One granny smith apple with 2 tbsp. almond butter

Dinner- Leftover chicken and veggie bake from lunch and one baked sweet potato with sautéed kale ( kale was sautéed in 1 tsp. coconut oil, 2 tbsp. chicken broth, red pepper flakes and a dash of hot sauce)

Snack- Pumpkin Muffin 

Click on “Pumpkin Muffin” to get the link to the recipe that has saved me and my sweet tooth so far 🙂 The only thing I changed was instead of the coconut oil I mashed one banana – they were still delicious! You can totally use the coconut oil for the Paleo Diet- I just like banana so I used it instead!

I hope this post is helpful for those of you who are interested in Paleo! I would definitely encourage everyone to try Paleo for a bit- I am loving how I feel! Talk to you all soon!

Leave a Reply

