Paleo Week One Recap:

Hey there! 

Well, I have to say I feel great! My digestion has improved so much, it’s wild. I finally have had multiple nights where I DON’T feel like curling up into a ball because I have stomach pains. It’s awesome to actually feel %100!

Week 1 Recap:

So, here is how my week went (remember- I am only human, so I do have slip ups!) Days 1-3 and 6-7 were awesome. I did a 100% Paleo diet with most breakfasts consisting of egg whites and veggies with a grapefruit. Lunches and dinners were a variety of different veggies and proteins depending on what we had in the house. My favorite dinner was a turkey chili with butternut squash that I made. I would post a recipe, but I don’t really have one. I just kind of threw everything in a big pot and let is simmer. I will work on developing a recipe for the chili that I can post for everyone! Snacks were definitely consumed, but they were all Paleo approved. My favorite snack was a sliced apple with 1 tbsp. almond butter. YUM!

What happened on days 4 and 5 you ask?

Well, my fiancé and I had off from school (we are teachers) for starters.  Being that we had off from school my fiancé and I scheduled our engagement photo’s to be taken on day 4.  It was a fun and romantic affair that had to be celebrated with one glass of red wine. So, although I wasn’t 100% Paleo because of the red wine, all of my food intake was Paleo approved. So in my mind, it wasn’t the worst slip up 🙂 Then, on day 5 my fiancé and I got together with a group of friends for dinner so I had one glass of wine. However, like day 4, the food throughout the day was all Paleo.

What have I learned?

1. Stay Hydrated

2. Plan ahead and pre prep any meals that you can.

But, most importantly….

I am human and it is ok if I slip up a bit.  I just want to make sure that when I do slip up, the rest of my choices throughout my day are best for my body and mood. For right now, that means sticking to as much of a 100% Paleo diet as possible.

What did I achieve?

A sense of “Yes, I can!” and a loss of 4 pounds. Plus, my favorite part- a digestive system that actually works and doesn’t cause me to curl up in pain! WOO HOO!!

Week 2 of the Paleo Countdown to Thanksgiving Challenge- here I come! 

Leave a Reply

