Paleo Challenge Check In

Check In/ Small Victories:

I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend! I am just checking in and letting you all know that I am still loving the way I feel while doing this Paleo Diet Challenge. Today is officially my 16th day of the Paleo Challenge. So far I have lost a total of 6.4 pounds and I can notice much more muscle definition in my body as well as much more energy (for the most part!).   Ten more days to go!!

Challenges:

Just like every person who tries something for the first time, there have been some hiccups along the way for me.  For instance, last week, I was under a lot of stress in my personal and work life.  Before I started the Paleo Challenge- when I was stressed, my go to was an intense workout followed by a piece of dark chocolate and a glass of red wine. However, now that I am doing the Paleo Challenge- I can still do the intense workout, but I can not indulge in the “comforting” dark chocolate and red wine.  I am sure that some of you are thinking that this is “no big deal”, but when that has been your go-to stress reliever for the past 5 years, it is a challenge not to break down and indulge.  I am very PROUD, however, to let you know that I did not break down. I simply did my workout, came home, made a healthy dinner of a huge spinach salad with one chicken sausage. Instead of dark chocolate I opted for a sliced apple with a sprinkle of cinnamon for dessert. Victory!!

Example Meal Plan from last Wednesday:

60-70 oz. of water

M1: 3/4 cup egg whites with 1/2 cup sautéed mushrooms, 1 grapefruit

M2: Apple

M3: 2 big handfuls of sautéed kale and 1 fully cooked chicken breast seasoned with a mix of 1 tbsp. balsamic and 1 tbsp. spicy dijon mustard.

M4: Apple with 1 1/2 tbsp. Almond Butter

M5: Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Butternut Squash and chicken sausage served on top of a big spinach salad.

M6: 1 bowl of chopped strawberries and pineapple

Bonus:

Take a look at some of the helpful websites where I have found yummy Paleo Recipes:

Soups 

Chicken

Pancakes (substitute egg whites for whole egg and remember- it says 500 calories for 4-6 pancakes depending on their size. If you don’t want that many calories than stick with 2 pancakes!)

Mexican Stir Fry

A variety of yummy recipes from SkinnyMom

Enjoy!! I can’t wait to check in with you all next weekend 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

